Faculty Senate Washburn University

Minutes of May 3, 2005 Meeting Kansas Room, Memorial Union

Present: Bahner, Baker, Borden, Boyd, Camarda, Carpenter, Cassell, Chorba, Concannon, Dinkel, Donner, Evans, Godman, Jacobs, Khan, Liang, Lockwood, Manske, Martin, McGuire, Meador, Nobo, Ockree, Palmer, Parker, Patzel, Ray, Renn-Scanlan, Roach, Russell, C. Schmidt, S. Schmidt, L. Smith, Wasserstein

- I. Loran Smith, Chair of the University Council, called the first meeting of the Faculty Senate to order at 3:03 PM.
- II. The motion was made (and seconded) that those members initially elected to the Executive Committee should be ensured a two-year term. It was proposed that a two-year term would yield a more efficient beginning to the Faculty Senate by allowing Committee members to continue, upon reelection, their position. The counterargument was made that if a member of the Executive Committee is to serve only a single year (as determined by lottery), the decision as to whether that individual should continue to serve on the Faculty Senate should begin with a vote by that individual's major academic unit. The motion was not carried.
- III. Election of Officers was conducted. Russ Jacobs was nominated for President, Bill Roach for Vice President, Mike Russell for Secretary, and Loran Smith for Parliamentarian. Each nomination was supported and unanimously approved by the attendees.
- IV. Members of the School of Applied Studies, the School of Law, and the School of Nursing selected an individual to serve on the Executive Committee so as to ensure that the Committee includes membership from every Major Academic Unit (IV.E). The nominations of Shirley Dinkel (School of Nursing), Candy Bahner (School of Applied Studies), and Jim Concannon (School of Law) were unanimously approved by the attendees.
- V. The Faculty Senate Constitution states that, "Elections to the Faculty Senate be held annually in April, with half of the membership selected in each election. (II.A). To achieve that end, a lottery was held to determine which members and positions will be up for reelection in April, 2006. Term expiration was randomly determined. The results are attached.
- VI. Old Business There was no Old Business.

VII. New Business –

A. A motion was made to table the agenda items pertaining to the Sweet Summer Sabbatical Committee, the change to the Anthropology Program, and the Review of the Academic Sabbatical Program until the first Faculty Senate meeting of the Fall, 2005. The motion was seconded and passed.

VIII. Discussion Items -

- A. As stated in the faculty Senate Constitution (VI.A), the Faculty Senate will establish from its own membership the following committees: an Electoral Committee, the Academic Affairs Committee, and the Faculty Affairs Committee. As a means to determine membership, Jacobs (President) requested that the Senators rank their committee preference and email those preferences to Russell (Secretary).
- B. The issue of whether the Libraries should be considered a major academic unit and, thus, whether a Librarian representative should be added to the Executive Committee was discussed.
- C. The issue of the meeting time of the Faculty Senate was discussed. For the majority of attendees, Monday afternoon meetings appeared to create the least number of schedule conflicts. The Executive Committee will discuss the specific meeting time and the duration of Senate meetings.
- D. To allow for discussion of agenda items outside the meetings of the Faculty Senate, Roach (Vice President) offered to create a LISTSERV for the members.
- E. It was recommended that a labeling and tracking system be developed so as to better follow the activities and recommendations of the Faculty Senate.
- F. With regard to proxies, it was suggested that while proxy attendance and discussion would be allowed, proxy voting would not. It was mentioned that proxy voting is contradictory to Robert's Rules of Order.
- IX. The meeting was adjourned at 4:32 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Mike Russell, Secretary to the Faculty Senate