SUBJECT: Revision of the Composition of the Graduate Committee

DESCRIPTION: The Faculty Handbook language for the composition of the Graduate Committee clearly predates the establishment of the graduate program in Nursing. It follows that Nursing should be represented because of their graduate program and not have the at-large member they presently have.

MOTION: To excise from the Faculty Handbook the final sentence of the description of the composition of the Graduate Committee, as illustrated below:

The Graduate Committee consists of the following members: deans of major academic units with graduate programs, department chairs (where appropriate) of departments with graduate programs, one faculty member (other than the department chair) from each department or major academic unit with a graduate program, elected by the faculty in the department/area, one faculty member from the Master of Liberal Studies Committee, elected by the MLS Committee, four tenured faculty members elected at large as described below, one Mabee Library faculty member elected by the Mabee Library faculty, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

At-large members will be elected for two-year terms by the faculty. The College of Arts and Sciences will elect two at-large members from the faculty in departments in the College that do not have graduate programs. The School of Applied Studies will elect one at-large member from faculty in the departments in the School that do not have graduate programs. The School of Nursing will elect one at-large member from its faculty.

REQUESTED ACTION: Faculty Senate Approval

DATE: September 14, 2009 Submitted by: Thomas Prasch

Faculty Senate President