NO: 10-15

FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MOTION TO REORGANIZE THE ACADEMIC/SWEET SABBATICAL COMMITTEE

Rationale: Unlike pretty much any other faculty committee, most of which are in one way or another directly appointed (either by deans or by faculty units), the Academic/Sweet Sabbatical Committee is constituted by selection of the Faculty Affairs Committee from nominations proposed by academic units. The device is unnecessarily cumbersome and creates problematic delays (given the lack of necessary continuity in the Faculty Affairs Committee, meaning that new committees do not necessarily know their responsibility). In addition, the basis for selection is unclear. Looking at past membership of the committee, it is clear that all units are not equally represented, but not clear why they are not. The motion thus simplifies the selection process.

Motion:

The Academic/Sweet Sabbatical Committee shall be composed of one member from each major academic unit and from each division within the College of Arts and Sciences, chosen by those units. Appointees must be tenured faculty. The term of service is two years. In the first year following this reorganization, however, to ensure some continuity to the committee, half of those selected will be designated to serve one-year terms, those members to be chosen by lot.

Approved by Faculty Senate April 12, 2010